Smiles and Umunandi (Friends)! <3

Okay, so this isn’t my normal, lengthy, wordy blog post! 😉 I haven’t had anything happen lately to warrant writing a full post, so instead, I have a few short events to write about… =D

IMG_1027

From left: Selah, Mary, Violet (partially hidden), Eluvis (beaded hair, and Lakunda (painting Eluvis’ toes)

These are most of the neighbor girls!! If I haven’t mentioned this already, we have a lot of kids who stay on our road. They come over and play once or twice a week and we spend a lot of evenings together outside our gate just before it gets dark!

This particular day, I thought it might be fun to spread out an icitenge, bring out a couple bottles of nail polish and paint the girls’ toenails! They seemed to have lots of fun!! I brought out a pink and a blue. They ended up using both colors on every one of their toes. 😉 I helped them do some, but some of them wanted to do it themselves…It was a really nice, fun, bonding time with the girls! Looking forward to more similar experiences!

IMG_1031

Violet wanted to do them herself. 😉

IMG_1001

Me and the adorable Vincent!

GUYS!!! This little boy is just TOO CUTE!!! Vincent was here on a visit from Lusaka (capital city of ZA) staying with the kids across the road. We had them over to play the other day, and he came along.

Now, some kids are scared to of “musungus” (white people) to the point of tears! Some seem a bit amazed by how different we look and want to touch us, sit in our laps, etc. The last scenario (as portrayed by the picture) is the case with little Vincent!

I was outside with all of my friends, and admittedly hadn’t really noticed him. That is, until I felt a ball hit my leg, and turn to see his smiling face waiting for me to kick it back. I smiled and returned the ball and he started giggling. It was SOO ADORABLE! This started a trend of him following me around the whole yard kicking the ball to me and giggling each time I returned it. He is seriously the giggliest little Zambian child I’ve met so far!

He not only kicked the ball to me, but insisted on holding my hand or being carried everywhere after a while! One of my friends said, “Wow..This kid really likes you!’

Once, I went to sit down on the grass and not a minute later did Vincent come and plop down in my lap just giggling away!

I’m gonna miss this boy…..Come back for a visit soon! ❤

IMG_0737

Matthews on the left, and Douglas on the right!

IMG_0744

From Left: Douglas, Matthews, and Clement.

Here are some pictures of some of the Wiphan kids I spend a lot of time with! I’ve talked about some of the others in previous posts, but I don’t think I’ve mentioned these kids before. All of these friends love to visit, ask questions, learn new games or tricks, teach me Bemba, etc. Some of them don’t have as extensive of an English vocabulary as others, but Douglas is usually pretty good at translating or teaching me what they are saying.

IMG_0751

Precious on the left, Mike photobombing, and me… 🙂

IMG_0766

The side profile of Immanuel, Bornface behind on the left, and Douglas behind on the right.

I’ve enjoyed teaching the boys in the pictures random tricks such as: when standing with one side of your body flat against a wall, you can’t lift the opposite foot; if you stand in a doorway and push on the frame of the door with your arms (as if you are trying to push it down, like Samson and the pillars) as hard as you can for a minute, then walk out, your arms will raise on their own. There are others, but I’m not quite sure how to explain them (nor am I sure I did a good job of explaining these… =P). We also enjoyed an arm-wrestling competition one day…! I won a couple rounds, but yeah…these boys are strong! They won a majority of the time… 😉

Precious also likes to join in these things with the boys, but we also enjoy just sitting, arms around each other, and talking about school, family, etc.

So thankful for these friends! God has given me!! ❤

Leave a Reply

