Do Something!

For a very long time, I couldn’t stand Matthew West’s song, “Do Something”. It is so intense and…well, I don’t really know how to describe the song, but I just didn’t like it, particularly the way he sang it!

Since being here in Zambia though, this song has come to mind numerous times…Here are the lyrics in case you haven’t heard it (if you look it up, you’ll see what I mean about it being intense 😉 ):

“I woke up this morning
Saw a world full of trouble now
Thought, how’d we ever get so far down
How’s it ever gonna turn around
So I turned my eyes to Heaven
I thought, “God, why don’t You do something?”
Well, I just couldn’t bear the thought of
People living in poverty
Children sold into slavery
The thought disgusted me
So, I shook my fist at Heaven
Said, “God, why don’t You do something?”
He said, “I did, I created you”

If not us, then who
If not me and you
Right now, it’s time for us to do something
If not now, then when
Will we see an end
To all this pain
It’s not enough to do nothing
It’s time for us to do something

I’m so tired of talking
About how we are God’s hands and feet
But it’s easier to say than to be
Live like angels of apathy who tell ourselves
It’s alright, “somebody else will do something”
Well, I don’t know about you
But I’m sick and tired of life with no desire
I don’t want a flame, I want a fire
I wanna be the one who stands up and says,
“I’m gonna do something”

If not us, then who
If not me and you
Right now, it’s time for us to do something
If not now, then when
Will we see an end
To all this pain
It’s not enough to do nothing
It’s time for us to do something

We are the salt of the earth
We are a city on a hill (shine shine, shine shine)
But we’re never gonna change the world
By standing still
No we won’t stand still
No we won’t stand still
No we won’t stand still

If not us, then who
If not me and you
Right now, it’s time for us to do something
If not now, then when
Will we see an end
To all this pain
It’s not enough to do nothing
It’s time for us to do something [x3]”

I didn’t understand how someone could “shake their fist at heaven” or be so…angry! At least that’s what I thought when I heard this song. But now, I don’t think “angry” is the right word…I think, heartbroken, might be better. Sure, when you actually listen to the song he sounds angry; but I think he’s truly just heartbroken by the world around him, and expresses that very passionately!

I see now how he could feel the way he does! His song expresses some of my recent thoughts almost perfectly! I look around and see so much poverty, so much loss, so much hurt around me, and not just here in Zambia either! Reading different news headlines from the U.S. and the stories about Bruce Jenner and the Duggar Scandal, I’m scared and heartbroken over what our world is coming to! I haven’t literally shaken my fist at heaven; no, but I have been on my knees, crying, “God! Why don’t you help? Why don’t you do something?” and that’s when Matthew West’s song comes to mind, this line in particular: “He [God] said, ‘I did, I created you!'”

He created me for a purpose. Maybe that purpose isn’t to fix all the poverty of Zambia or keep the U.S. from falling deeper and deeper into their judgement and sin, but I’m “never gonna change the world by standing still”! No I won’t stand still! I won’t just sit around and observe problems and heartache. Maybe all I can do to have a part in “fixing” any of these problems is to pray. God might be calling me in a totally different direction than solving these issues, but no matter what God calls me to do, it won’t involve doing nothing.

So coming off the heels of my previous post, I’m praying through what God is calling me to do. He has shown me my gift of compassion. He has broken my heart over seemingly hopeless situations… I no longer hate this song. Instead, it is the cry of my heart! “Okay God, what’s my next step in life? I am the salt of the earth. I am a city on a hill. I want to shine for you! Help me shine! God I wanna ‘Do Something'”!”

One thought on “Do Something!

  1. Yes! Megan! It is overwhelming, but we each must do what God gives us to do. We can’t see the big picture of how this is all going to work out. We don’t know if we what we are doing really makes a difference. That’s where faith comes in that God will take the widow’s mite and do His will in ways we can’t comprehend. Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

